Skip to content

lemon balm mojitos

July 13, 2008

zora naki

sipping marvelous mojitos on a hot summer day – could anything be better?

we have a ton of lemon balm growing, so i used this in a variation on the traditional mint.

lemon balm mojitos

(makes 2)
in a cocktail shaker, combine:

1 Tbsp sugar
6 lemon balm leaves
juice from 2 limes

muddle them up until the leaves are bruised, but not in shreds

add:

3 oz white rum
ice cubes to fill

shake and strain into cocktail glasses. top up with tonic water and garnish with a few lemon balm leaves and (my personal favourite) a few frozen raspberries or strawberries or some slices of lime.

cin cin!

7 Comments

Post a comment
  1. m #
    July 13, 2008

    sounds perfect for a night of knitting with the neighbourhood ladies….

  2. ourfriendben #
    July 14, 2008

    Oh yum oh yum oh yum…

  3. July 14, 2008

    Nicely done! I love lemon balm!! I use it to make teas and such, but a lemon balm mojito…simply delish! Nice touch with the frozen berries!!

  4. threadspider #
    July 24, 2008

    Mmmm-I have lemon balm and now I know what to do with it. I’ll let you know I how I get on.

  5. July 28, 2008

    Hi there,

    Wonderful blog! I just found you by mistake, whilst googling lemon balm. I’ll be back for more of your experiments! I have used this recipe as an ideal use for lemon balm in my blog and have linked it back to you, hope you don’t mind. You can have a look at http://indian-earth.blogspot.com/

    Look forward to coming again…

    Emma

  6. July 28, 2008

    Mmmmm, Mojito’s! I just made some with my homegrown mint last night! What wonderfull pictures! Ill be peeking back again!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. How to make strawberry or tomato hanging baskets « groweatgift

Leave a comment