Skip to content

the garden, she is planted

April 23, 2010

zora naki

Busy busy! I gave myself special dispensation to buy some bedding plants because I feel like I just don’t have TIME to grow things from seed, what with all the weeding and the shoveling and the reclaiming of land from the things that Ran Wild last year. Also, I am into instant gratification (a sad commentary on our times, but I am a product of society, so there you have it).

Dug out the beds, weeded, and topped up with about 4 inches of fresh soil.


I’ve planted 16 tomato plants and 5 peppers. There are raspberries, onions, garlic and potatoes from last year that are coming on strong. Oh, and I did plant SOME seeds (I’m not totally lame) – fava beans, yellow wax beans, purple beans (two varieties), beets (chioggia), carrots (purple haze), peas, and spring onions. Apparently I like colourful vegetables.

Squash, zucchini, and swiss chard (bright lights, natch). Still have some white cauliflower plants waiting to be tucked in somewhere. Still looking for purple cauliflower (graffiti) to add to the crop. Debating broccoli.

And the herb garden is zooming along. The perennial crop is going gangbusters: fennel, chives (regular and garlic), oregano (regular and greek), thyme (regular and lemon), sage, parsley, lemon balm, chamomile (roman and german), and the mints (peppermint, spearmint, orange mint).

I’ve added two small rosemary bushes to replace what died a few years back, and also potted a wee bay leaf tree in the terracotta pot you can see tucked in there. My nemesis – basil – is destined for some pots – maybe I can baby it to fruition this year with some vigilant gardening. This will be my new superhero name: The Vigilant Gardener. And I will wear green and carry a trowel and slay weeds and slugs with a single deadly blast from my unblinking eyeballs of organic wrath, powered solely by spring fever.

2 Comments

Post a comment
  1. April 23, 2010

    I cheated also this year and purchased some of my veggies rather than growing from seed. I did try growing some seeds indoors, but I forgot to care for them.

    The perennial herb garden is amazing!

  2. May 13, 2010

    It looks like you got some great plants. Have fun digging!

Leave a Reply

