Skip to content

front yard gardens

September 5, 2009

zora naki

we were on our way to the PNE yesterday afternoon and I ended up taking more pictures of the front yard gardens that we passed than i did of the kids on rides. Some gorgeous, mouth-watering displays of gardening ingenuity, in all its forms. First up, a lovely Craftsman with a picket fence. From the street, it looks pretty.

front yard gardens

When you peer over the fence (as i am wont to do), you spy a functional and attractive garden.

front yard gardenfront yard garden

so pretty. in the same neighbourhood, squash and melon vines sprawl vigorously.

front yard gardenfront yard garden

some are combined with raised beds holding other veggies.

front yard gardenfront yard garden

the scariest version was an entirely enclosed chain link cage.

front yard garden

ugly as heck, but effective – check out the crop (i’m guessing bitter melon, but i don’t really know)

front yard garden

when we finally made it to the fair, i did manage to get a shot of the smallest kid on a ride.
front yard garden

the rest was just a blur of lines and rides and animals and junk food galore. i really wanted to eat a deep-fried mars bar (just to say that i had) but we didn’t get to it this time around. maybe next year…

5 Comments

Post a comment
  1. sweetcomice #
    September 5, 2009

    I just found you and love what you are doing here…..

    i’m putting you on my blog roll if you don’t mind.

    the photos are wonderful….and what you’re thinking inspires me.

    my blog: http://sweetcomice.wordpress.com/

    Georgia

  2. September 14, 2009

    Thanks Georgia!

  3. September 5, 2009

    These are some nice pictures… I like the idea of a garden in the front yard… so functional and pretty at the same time🙂
    That little car looks cool!

  4. September 12, 2009

    Hi. loved the looking over the fence with you. I woke up thinking about sowing carrot seed in my front planter box, and I’m already in the process of saying good by to my front lawn, plus seems like there was a garden design dream in there, too… where to put the dry river bed?
    Wouldn’t it be alive and lovely if everyone reclaimed their front yards and grew stuff? I think our neighborhoods would come back to life!
    (btw…came here via urbangardensweb.com)

  5. September 12, 2009

    one more thing. Can I have permission to use your top photo on my blog if I give credit to your blog? Let me know or I’ll email you if you don’t see this. Jeannie

    Sure – go ahead. Have fun planting!

Leave a Reply

