Skip to content

more decluttering

December 12, 2008

zora naki

Yesterday I got rid of 97 lbs of computer equipment (2 monitors and a printer). This is in addition to the 50 lbs of clothes I donated last week, which means that…I’m up to 445 lbs of decluttering this year! Only 55 lbs to go and the rest of December to get there.

In the spirit of simplifying, I’ve been dipping back into some of my books on the topic for inspiration. My favourite has got to be The Simple Living Guide by Janet Luhrs (an intelligent and reasonable approach), but I also worked my way through the classic Your Money or Your Life by Joe Dominguez and Vicki Robin (preachy, overly obsessed with tracking and wall charts, but still the book everyone else quotes) and the lightweight Not Buying It: My Year Without Shopping by Judith Levine (she and her partner do not buy anything other than essentials for a year, but still maintain 3 cars and 2 residences between them). Then I moved on to the financial planning guides – The 4-hour Work Week (a bit skeevy, although i do like how he questions our assumptions about what a working life should look like), Smart Couples Finish Rich (practical but not terribly innovative), etc. etc.

I obviously have money (not enough) and stuff (too much) on the brain! Met with a set of contractors this week to go over their proposed budget for the reno and was…i’m looking for the right word here…astonished? flabbergasted? amazed? by how much it came to (more than double our unspeakable budget). In our neck of the woods, it would probably be cheaper to move to find what we need. I need to figure out what to do.

One Comment

Post a comment
  1. ourfriendben #
    December 12, 2008

    Good for you, Zora! I’m so impressed with your 445 pounds. What an inspiration! Good luck deciding what to do about the renovations. Keep us posted!

    Thank you! Of course, being able to get rid of nearly 500 lbs of stuff tells you something about how much stuff we have…

Leave a Reply

