Skip to content

the hardy kiwi raises questions

May 26, 2008

zora naki

not the most inspiring photo, but i have at long last, planted a kiwi vine. i’ve put my plans for a kiwi orchard on hold until the upcoming reno is done.

because i don’t have a lot of room for more vines right now (what with the beans and the cucumbers and the squashes), i chose what i thought was a self-pollenizing hardy kiwi: the Michigan State Actinidia arguta. At least, the sign in the garden store said it was self-pollenizing. Once I actually got home and looked it up online, it appears this may not be so. Some sources say it requires a male plant. Some say the fruit will be reddish green and fuzzless, some say lime green. if you know more, please let me know!

on other fronts, harvest #6 (and yes, the spinach is bolting).

7 Comments

Post a comment
  1. May 26, 2008

    It’s inspiring to me — as much as I love kiwis, I didn’t even know they grew on a vine! Duh. Your spinach looks lovely — it’s my favorite salad base. 🙂

  2. msewell #
    May 26, 2008

    I’ve got some hardy kiwis here at my place in Washington, they’re about the size of a large marble, brownish-green, fuzzless, and tasty. We have two separate vines, a male and a female, and only the female produces fruit. Don’t know if this is the same variety as yours, but i hope that helps!

  3. June 3, 2008

    Hi! The arguta variety named “Issai” is reportedly at least partially self-fertile, where others are not – all catalogs and gardening books I’ve checked seem to emphasize this. If “Michigan State” is a newer cultivar, you may get lucky?

  4. August 15, 2008

    Hi, I just found your blog after searching for hardy kiwi:) I’m in Michigan and thinking about making the attempt… how is your vine doing? Where are you located (generally speaking)?

  5. August 16, 2008

    Hi – I’m on the West Coast (Vancouver) and my vines (I bought a male vine as well) are looking very sad right now. I don’t know if they’re going to make it through the summer. (If they do make it, I’m planning on transplanting them elsewhere in the yard in the fall). On the other hand, I see kiwis growing in my neighbourhood in other people’s yards, so it is doable. Good luck!

  6. Suzanne #
    June 1, 2009

    Hi – just stumbled on your site and love it. I just bought a Kiwi vine – and live close to Michigan (in Windsor, Canada). So – How is your plant doing? I didn’t know about the Male/Female issue when I bought mine, so I’m going to have to determine which I’ve got, and am thinking I may have to get another one… Have you gotten any fruit yet with just one plant?

  7. June 1, 2009

    Hi Suzanne,
    I was just about to post on the kiwi vine saga. I planted two new female vines this spring and they’re thriving, but I don’t expect any fruit for a year or two. It seems to take awhile for them to get comfortable. But my fruit trees from last summer all have little things (pears, apples, plums) growing! very exciting stuff.

Leave a Reply

